District Attorney

The Colorado 7th Judicial District includes Montrose, Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Ouray, and San Miguel counties. The District Attorney’s Office serves these counties and their many communities in four separate offices located in the towns of Montrose, Delta, Gunnison, and Telluride. 

The Montrose office is located in the Montrose County Justice Center. The Office of the District Attorney prosecutes Montrose County criminal court cases and persons who have violated state law as defined by the Colorado Legislature. The District Attorney has no authority to enforce federal law or municipal law.

The elected District Attorney is Dan Hotsenpiller.